Communications

Strategic Communications and Marketing creates inspiring, impactful messages and stories that inform, educate and motivate the UF community, alumni and friends to advocate for and invest in the University of Florida.

Take me to:    Our Services     |    Work Samples     |    Priority Projects    |    Meet the Team    |    Our Location

Our Services

Our team serves the UF Advancement vice president, central staff and all of UF’s development teams.

We will work with you on your print or digital media, photo, and video, from concept to roll out. This often includes writing, designing, editing, and developing a strategic communications plan. If you are not sure who your strategic communications contact is, meet the team.

Here are some examples of the types of projects we can help with:

• Brochures and Booklets
• Decals, Flyers and Posters
• Principal Gift Video Book Proposals
• Postcards and Notecards

• Folders
• Invitation packages
• Ad Concepts and Designs
• Fundraising Proposals

• Banners, Signs and Displays
• Logos and T-shirts
• Photo and Video Shoots
• Websites and E-blasts

Work Samples

This sampling shows a range of projects produced by our team.

Priority Projects

In keeping with advancement’s mission to be the best and to set the gold standard — and in consideration of production and implementation demands accompanying the go greater campaign — the strategic communications and marketing team is focusing its efforts to address the highest communications priorities (right).

The timeline for each project is different. Our team will work out a timeline with you at the onset of the project to provide clear expectations. Planning ahead will allow each of us to determine the best options, budget and impact based on the project goals. that said, please be prepared to share with us any pertinent event dates, internal deadlines and estimates on gaining approvals.

  1. Go Greater campaign marketing materials
  2. Go Greater campaign public launch event
  3. Bright Ideas and major development/ campaign initiatives
  4. Mega/principal donors ($5m+)
  5. Leadership donors ($1m+)
  6. Advancement/ campaign/ development events
  7. Major donors
  8. Annual giving donors
  9. Internal communications

.

Meet the Team

Administration and Support

Luke Anderson / Associate Vice President, Strategic Communications & Chief Marketing Officer

Room: 318
Phone:
352-392-8950
landerson@uff.ufl.edu

Katie Clemen / Administrative Assistant

Room: 311B
Phone: 352-392-1633
kclemen@uff.ufl.edu

• Departmental questions
• Scheduling meetings
• Toolkit questions

Development Communications

David Finnerty / Senior Director of Development Communications

Room: 316
Phone: 352-392-8971
dfinnerty@uff.ufl.edu

  • AnnualGiving
  • Bright Ideas and Major Initiatives
  • Machen Florida Opportunity Scholars
  • Central Advancement
  • Fundraising
  • Academy of Golden Gators

Mary Goodwin / Assistant Director of Development Communications

Room: 322
Phone: 352-392-5488
mgoodwin@uff.ufl.edu

  • Donor Relations
  • Colleges and Units (non-Bright Ideas)
  • Central Advancement, non-fundraising
  • Regional

Creative Services

Dave Houder / Senior Director of Creative Services

Room: 314
Phone: 352-392-8076
dhouder@uff.ufl.edu

• Creative direction
• Organizational brand development and management
• Strategic creative development

James Baer / Senior Graphic Designer

Room: 323
Phone: 352-392-8212
jbaer@uff.ufl.edu

• Design services
• Print and digital communications
• Tactical creative development

Rob Mack / Graphic Designer

Room: 321
Phone: 352-392-8495
rmack@uff.ufl.edu

• Design services
• Print and digital communications
• Tactical creative development

Brenton Richardson / Multimedia Specialist

Room: 317
Phone: 352-392-7491
brichardson@uff.ufl.edu

• Videography
• Photography
• Media curation

Aaron Daye / Multimedia Specialist

Room: 317
Phone: 352-392-4068
adaye@uff.ufl.edu

• New staff photos
• Photography
• Videography
• Media curation

I am text block. Click edit button to change this text. Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, pulvinar dapibus leo.

Digital Communications

Jason Phenicie / Director of Digital Communications

Room: 308
Phone: 352-392-5980
jphenicie@uff.ufl.edu

• Digital communications strategy
• Digital content management
• Digital brand management

Chris Barnett / Senior Web Administrator

Room: 310
Phone: 352-392-9535
cbarnett@uff.ufl.edu

• Web administration and security
• E-commerce application development
•Broadcast Emails

Martha Jakab / Web Developer / Programmer

Room: 331B
Phone: 352-846-3610
mjakab@uff.ufl.edu

• Web applications
• Web-based event management
• E-mail marketing

Tonya Gibbs / Web Designer

Room: 331A
Phone: 352-392-7636
tgibbs@uff.ufl.edu

• Advancement/ Foundation web presence
• E-mail marketing
• E-stewardship

Our Location

Physical Address
100 NW 20th Street,
 Third Floor
Gainesville, FL 32603


Mailing Address

PO Box 14425
Gainesville, FL 32604

Delivery Address
1938 W University Ave.
Gainesville, FL 32603


Phone
352-392-1633
Fax 352-334-8073
Email communications@uff.ufl.edu